I voted

I sent in my absentee ballot a few weeks ago.

It’s really a bummer absentee voters don’t get that cool “I voted!” sticker to wear around with pride for the rest of the day.

So here is an old photo of me from 2008 – the last time around! (This is when I worked as a teacher for the reading program and this particular classroom was an extra room in a church. Pretty obvious from the décor, isn’t it?)

But even more of a bummer is that as an absentee voter, I didn’t get the opportunity to vote on the local issues in Maryland. I would’ve loved to have been a part of those important decisions as well. But at least I could vote for the president/VP, senator and representative and I am proud to be able to exercise my voting rights even while living abroad. (And happy that the name change with the Social Security administration was completed just in time for the election so that my vote will count!)

In any case, tomorrow is the first day I will actually be excited to wake up at 5:45 for my early class. I’ll be making a beeline straight from bed to my computer to check the news. The anticipation is nerve-wracking!

3 thoughts on “I voted

Leave a Reply

