Whew.

Anybody else finding it hard to adjust back to the routine after the holidays? Mine, of course, were filled with travel and that first week back after our trip was pretty tiring. But jumping back into work the day after we got back, even though it felt crazy at the time, really helped me get back into the swing of things. A blessing in disguise, if you will.

In recent news, I got my hair cut last Tuesday, and boy does it feel GOOD! I always feel about a pound lighter after a haircut. And nothing beats that fresh feeling of styled hair straight from the salon. I’ll let you in on a little secret: I absolutely love getting my hair washed at the salon. That scalp massage and the smell of new shampoo are just heavenly. When I was a kid, the cheap salon we always went to (called Unique Chic) always used an almond-scented shampoo and conditioner. Mmm. That smell still brings me back to my childhood. Sometimes I still expect that smell when I go to the hairdresser’s here, but they obviously use something different. But it’s still nice getting that last wash before a new cut, even if the neck thing can be a little uncomfortable. The way they wrap your head up in a turban afterwards is also pretty impressive!

While we were in Bali, I managed to get past the most annoying stage of growing bangs. So when I got back, I had to figure out whether I wanted them to cut it back to my normal blunt bangs or to just let my hair grow out. And I think for now I may let them grow a bit & try rocking the side bangs for a while. What do you think?

I liked my long hair, especially because I had only recently perfected my top knot technique (which makes me feel like a real blogger! hah!) but it was getting to be too much to handle. All those tangles, all that brushing out, all that blow-drying in the winter. I was ready for some shorter, more manageable tresses!

So here I am — starting January looking and feeling great! Tobi was nice enough to take this picture for me to document that feeling.

Anybody else doing anything different with their hair soon?

3 thoughts on “Whew.

  1. Looking good, Sarah!

    I get my hair cut roughly every five weeks because I like to keep it short – learning the German terminology for the stuff I always do was a challenge. I tend to use pretty low end salons, and their English is about as good as my German, so between the two of us we make it work. LOL.

    I definitely know what you mean about getting back into a routine. I feel like I still haven’t caught up in weeks.

    • Thanks Steven!

      Oh yeah, the vocabulary is always a bit terrifying. I even googled it before my first haircut here but was unable to find any good guides on that topic! My salon this time was also low-end – called Hair Factory – because I realized that if I had to call and make an appointment at the place I’ve previously gotten my hair done, which is also in another neighborhood, I would probably procrastinate on it for another month or so. But for this one it’s just down the road from my house and walk-ins are accepted! I was pleased with the results.

      Did you go back home again to the States over Christmas?

      • I used Hairkiller for a while, but there’s always a massive wait time there. I get in and out of the place near my office in well under a lunch break.

        I went to the States around Thanksgiving, but I was back here for Christmas. I didn’t get nearly as much Christkindlmarkt time this year as last.

Leave a Reply

