Vision boards

This month’s prompt for the One Little Word project was to create a vision board, and I have to say that this task really tapped into something very deep inside of me.

Here’s something about me that you may or may not know: I love collages! I used to make them pretty often back in high school and college. It’s something that I haven’t done in a very long time, and I don’t know why. In fact, some of my favorite collages from years past express a period in my life better than any diary pages I could have written.

Anyway, I had so much fun making mine. It was a cathartic experience after the turbulent week I’ve had and, thankfully, it was something that I could accomplish while still sick in bed. (P.S. This cold has really knocked me out…I haven’t felt this sick in a while, and my voice is pretty much gone. Tobias said he’s never seen me this sick before, so that’s really saying something. Lying in bed was getting pretty boring, and there’s only so much of the internet that will keep you occupied before you get bored with it and go back to sleep.)

The first step of making a vision board is just flipping through magazines and pulling out whatever speaks to you in some way or another. I really liked Ali’s encouragement to pull things that appeal to you and speak to your heart. She said that you may not know why you’re attracted to a certain image or why you picked it, but to just go for it!

These are my finished products.

That advice to just go for it resulted in some interesting things, as you have now seen. Like the pigs or the pickle jar in the first image. Or in the second image – those pink- and black-striped pieces on the bottom left are pieces of ice cream cake. And you’ll notice I pulled out three separate images of blueberries. Lots of round images like the soup bowl, the sugared cranberries, the eggs, the polka-dotted pillow.

Almost unexpectedly, my favorite part is the bottom right picture on my second board. The one of the pine branch covered in snow. I was originally drawn to that picture for the beauty of the snow on the branch. I didn’t even look at the quote, but assumed I would just cut it off when I went back through to make my final selection. But then, going back through, I read the quote.

“In a way, winter is the real spring, the time when the inner things happen, the resurgence of nature.” – Edna O’Brien, Irish novelist

That quote resonated with me to my core. I don’t want to go into the details, but these past few weeks have been hard. One sad thing after the next in my life and my family and my circle of friends. Two deaths, two job losses, a tumor we’re not sure yet how dangerous it is. I almost hate that I chose the word “happy” for my One Little Word. I almost thought about changing it, or quitting the project. But try as you might, you can’t abandon happiness. It comes in one way or another, even in the hard times.

Winter is the real spring. The resurgence of nature. There are times when it feels like winter in our souls. Things feel dead and cold. And it’s hard to imagine that spring will come. But it will come. It comes every time, a new promise each year. And even in the dead of winter, the trees are alive. They are conserving their energy. And that is what we do, too. We do what we need to do to conserve energy, to rest, to take the time we need until the days start getting brighter and hope starts to grow again.

Have you ever made a vision board before? If so, why did you make it? Was it alone or as part of a group? Please share!

And if you’ve never made one before, I encourage you to go do one now. Think about the things you want to invite into your life. Go with your gut. Create something with your own two hands.

I am going to find a place to go hang these up where I can see them this year. I am looking forward to seeing how these images gain more meaning as the year goes on, to see how these things play a part in my life.

12 thoughts on “Vision boards

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been sick and that things have been so touch for you and your circle of loved ones lately. That quote about winter, though, is absolutely perfect — and a great way to invite good things even during this cold time of year.

  2. I just get my supplies at normal craft stores, nothing special really!
    Love your collages!
    And thanks so much for commenting!

    Have a great week,
    -Kati

  3. Hi Sarah,
    Loved your post, your blog, and your collages! Winter is a season of hidden growth – trees roots push down through the unknown spaces and grow all through the cold and dark. Then, comes spring.
    Love,
    Chris

  4. I used to do projects like this all the time, back in middle and high school. It would be so fun to create a new vision board as a grownup (fewer pictures of Nsync would probably be involved)!

    • Haha Nsync! I hear ya. If I had done vision boards during middle school, I’m pretty sure Hanson and Britney Spears would have made it onto the boards.

      Awesome! You should definitely try it. It’s so much fun and it is definitely interesting to see a different perspective on it through adult eyes.

  5. Hi Sarah,

    I agree that vision boards will help us achieve us dreams 🙂

    From a psychological perspective, a vision board works by stimulating the reticular activation system, or RAS, which is an information filtering system in your brain. Once you hold an image in your mind, you program your RAS to search for it among all the information coming to you from the world. For example, have you noticed that when you decide on the kind of car you want, you begin to see it everywhere? That’s why.

Leave a Reply

