Valentine’s Day

This is the happiest I have been in weeks.

Tobias bought me 3 goldfish for Valentine’s Day!

For the past two years, I’ve been saying that I’ve wanted to get another fish. At various points back in high school & college, I had three different betta fish. About a year after I moved to Germany, I decided I wanted to get another fish, but kept putting it off because of all of the travel I had planned. Every time I thought about getting one, I realized that it wouldn’t be long before our next trip and we’d have to get a fish-sitter. So I told myself I’d get one after the trip. But then I’d forget and not remember again until it was time for the next vacation. It was a vicious cycle.

But Tobias remembered my desire for a fishy friend. He randomly found a big ol’ fishbowl on Ebay Classifieds and went to go pick it up. And then he went to the pet store and picked out three different goldfish and a plant to help aerate their water a bit and provide entertainment. The finishing touch was the big shell (seems to be an abalone shell with pretty nacre, a.k.a. mother of pearl), which he has had for years and which we had just recently pulled out of a box that was in storage.

So yesterday, I came home from work and Tobias put his hand over my eyes and led me into the kitchen. I thought he might have made some sort of dessert, as he has in the past two years (2011, 2012). But I started doubting that when he led me to to the table and had me kneel down in front of it, which I thought was rather strange. Then he took his hand away and, right in front of my eyes, I saw a huge fishbowl with three shiny goldfish inside!

We have named them Brainy, Rusty and Dr. Klaus. (Though…I suspect his Dr. title is a fake…he wouldn’t be the only one in Germany right now, ha!) Brainy’s name was the easiest, due to the brain-shaped growth he has on the top of his head. We threw a few other names around like Sushi, Spot, and Copernicus before settling on Rusty for the spotted brown-and-orange one and Dr. Klaus for the orange guy. It’s so relaxing to sit and watch them swim around in there! They like to nibble on the plant and swim around the seashell. Feeding them is the best part, watching them come up to the top and scarf up the little flakes. We’ll have to get them some mealworms or other special treats to give them every once in a while. (I also heard goldfish can eat fruit and vegetables…?!)

Hopefully the bowl will be okay for them. Apparently there’s quite a lot of controversy surrounding fishbowls. The guy at the pet shop called it “animal torture” and said that they didn’t sell fishbowls there. So far my three little friends seem to be okay. The plant does provide some oxygen, and it has a big surface area. We may look into getting a filter of some sort. There’s a lot to learn about taking care of them – the more we read, the more conflicting information we find.

I smile every time I look at them. They’re such fun to watch. I could stare at them for hours. Thank you, honey. BEST Valentine’s present EVER!

So yesterday was really good. My Hamburg poster arrived, too. (A nice Valentine’s Day present to myself!) Speaking of Hamburg and love, my friend and coworker Kristi posted this awesome love letter on her blog at the Vancouver Sun. Go check it out here!

Did you get any surprises on Valentine’s Day?

 

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. Did you get any surprises on Valentine’s Day?

    I got the surprise of valentine’s day itself. I completely spaced on the existence of the holiday until lunchtime, when I saw that they’d placed little marzipan hearts on the krapfen at the bakery. D’oh!

Leave a Reply

