Mayrhofen

We’re having a wonderful time here in Mayrhofen on our snowboarding vacation. The first two days, we had PERFECT weather: blue skies, sun, and good snow. Even perhaps a little warm for snowboarding! The past two days and today, it’s been very windy, with gusts of 30 km/h, which makes it a bit more difficult to ride sometimes.

Technique-wise, I’m doing better than last year, which is good progress. I am still very afraid of falling, and I don’t always trust my ability to ride when it’s steep. But I do have some favorite slopes now that I can ride with no qualms, and that feeling is wonderful. For the steeper places, I’ll get it eventually, I guess.

It’s embarrassing to admit this, but when I get frustrated and tired when snowboarding, I’m kind of like a pouty toddler. Tobias is so very patient with me…even when I sometimes don’t want to hear his advice. But I’m getting better at recognizing when I need a break, and once I’ve rested up, I’m usually ready to go again. Take this morning, for example. Tobias went off at the normal time (around 8:30 a.m.), but I stayed behind and took some much-neeeded rest in bed. I am going to leave soon to meet him up there for lunch, and even though it is extremely windy again, at least the sun is out today. The snow is generally harder to ride in the afternoon, but I think the extra rest really did me well.

But before I leave, I want to share a few of my favorite pictures from our trip so far!

My very first après-ski drink – wheat beer at the Pilzbar. Tobias and I enjoyed ourselves:

And, last but not least, this picture of my husband that I find extremely sexy. Ohhh yeah.

The hat, the t-shirt, those muscles, that smile. Why hello, there, Mr. Stäbler!

One thought on “Mayrhofen

Leave a Reply

