Delayed gratification shopping

Over the past few months, I’ve ordered a few items online. And because they’re all from stores within the US, I had them sent to my parents’ house and will pick them up when we visit this summer. It’s much easier that way. No big delays, no extra shipping costs, and no trouble with having to go pick it up at the customs office. Much less complicated.

So far I’ve got 3 items waiting for me at home:

This print via happydeliveries on Etsy. I just love the quote.

 

This goldfish bubbles necklace from Tilly Bloom. I couldn’t resist! Especially now that I have goldfish of my own!

 

And this Maryland home t-shirt, which my niece was kind enough to model for me when they received it! (It’s obviously a little a lot big on her, but she’s the only one in the family who it would fit!)

I’m excited to get all my packages! As Tobias once told me, “Vorfreude ist die schönste Freude.” The greatest pleasure lies in the anticipation! And it’s true, not only with getting my stuff I ordered, but of course with seeing family, too!

I’m looking forward to my visit. We just booked our flights yesterday and we’ll be in the US for three weeks visiting family and friends at the end of July to the beginning of August. Can’t wait, you guys!

7 thoughts on “Delayed gratification shopping

    • You’re SO right, Mandi! I’ve had to go to the Zollamt three times to pick up various packages from friends. It’s never really all that fun and I always get nervous (for no reason).

  1. I go crazy for Zappos. When I know someone is coming over the pond to see us, I ship shoes to their house. When I’m going over the pond myself…ship shoes to my house. My sister always knows we are about to arrive by the amount of packages that come to our/her house. Then when we arrive I do a shopping spree at Old Navy for the basic tshirt. I just can’t spend 25 euro on a basic t when I could spend less than 10 dollars at home….well the other home.

    • Haha – that’s a good technique, too! I totally know what you mean about doing a shopping spree. My hubby buys all his t-shirts in the US now. (And he usually comes back with several pairs of shoes…) I usually make sure to hit up Target, Forever 21, and my local thrift store. Those are the ones I miss the most!

Leave a Reply

