iPhone repair

It was only a matter of time.

I’m surprised it didn’t happen earlier, actually. I broke the glass screen of my iPhone. (And I’m guessing most of you have been there at some point, too.)

I had dropped it before and was lucky. But not this time. Several weeks ago, I was standing in the metro station waiting for the next train to come. I was typing in a comment on a blog, and suddenly a woman walked by and her bag hit my phone, causing it to drop to the ground, right on its face. I scowled as I picked it up, and a frustrated noise escaped my lips, enough that the lady turned around and looked at me to see if everything was okay.

I looked down and didn’t see any damage, so I waved the lady on. But there must have been just a little crack or something, because I continued typing and then ten seconds later, a single crack appeared just like that – from top to bottom. Like when you’re driving a car with a cracked windshield and you go over a bump, and the crack suddenly gets much bigger all at once.

By then the lady was gone. I was frustrated and a bit angry, but really the scratch wasn’t all that bad. After a few minutes of being mad, I shrugged it off and told myself that it could be much worse.

And just two days later, it did get worse! Again waiting for another ride from our lovely public transportation system, my fingers got cold so I decided to put my phone back into my pocket. But the phone hit the edge of the pocket and started falling. I literally saw this scene in slow motion, and my gut reaction was to put my foot out to break its fall. But, as my soccer days are long behind me, I don’t have such great coordination anymore. And instead of breaking its fall, I kicked it. I kicked it square across the sidewalk and it skidded (again on its face) to a halt about three feet away from me.

“SHIT!” I yelled. In English. Must have been a bit funny for people watching. Because when I picked it up and saw the bottom left corner shattered, I couldn’t help but laugh. Just two days after it was broken anyway, I went and kicked it across the sidewalk.

Still, it could have been much worse.

I went for several weeks with a broken screen but then decided to fix it. I ordered a new glass screen online and tried to fix it myself.

Tobias did help me a bit with the harder parts (like taking it out of the oven – my fingers are more sensitive to heat than his are) but between the two of us, we were able to fix the screen.

But in the process, I totally killed the home button. It doesn’t even press down anymore. Oops. Lesson learned: don’t use a hairdryer on your home button. It will melt.

(That weird black thing is actually the reflection of the wires hanging from our ceiling in our office. We’ve lived here for 2.5 years and haven’t hung a lamp in there yet. Guess we should get on that…)

So now I have a new case, as well as a protective film on the front, which will hopefully help avoid cracks. And although the home button has been rendered useless, I can at least control the phone with the Accessibility feature that allows me to have a home button on the screen. It’s always there, and a bit annoying at first, but you get used to it after a while. And since my home button doesn’t work, I just put some pretty washi tape over it. So fun!

Long story short: 

Would I do it again? I’m not sure. I didn’t try going to the Apple store. I’m not sure what they would have told me. It’s a 3GS so I’m not even sure they’d fix it. Or how much I’d have to pay for that. If I were to do it again, I would probably still do it on my own, but order a glass screen that is already attached to the casing. It’s a bit more expensive, but then you don’t have to worry about ungluing stuff in the oven and pulling it apart. You just have to unscrew it, detach it, and then reattach the new part.

But all’s well that ends well. I can still use my phone, and it’s much nicer without a broken screen! Now if I could just figure out how to make a screen shot without the accessibility menu blocking the screen…

Leave a Reply

