Blast from the past: friendship bracelets!

I recently decided to make a friendship bracelet for the first time since 5th grade. (Let’s see…that was…15 years ago. Oh my gosh! I’m old!)

I have a good stash of embroidery floss, and I have been itching to use it ever since I saw this lovely pattern on Pinterest called the leaf pattern. It looked a bit more advanced than the ones I made in 5th grade. Back then, I pretty much stuck to straight rows and it was always a feat to be proud of when I created a chevron one.

This tutorial with its pictures and this video with the live instructions helped me learn the process. It’s pretty simple, actually. A perfect thing to do with your hands while watching TV.

Last weekend after brunch with friends, we made a few friendship bracelets. I made a nice chevron one in primary colors while we watched this National Geographic show about Doomsday Preppers. (Ever heard of them? Crazy shit!)

So, ladies. (And maybe a few gentlemen out there?) Did you make friendship bracelets when you were a kid? Have you made any since?

Next up, I may have to try this heart pattern!

 

Leave a Reply

