Wait…WHAT kind of chocolate is THAT?

I may have shared this before, but I’m a total fool for advertising. I see the words LIMITED TIME ONLY! and think, “Oh my gosh, I have to buy it before it runs out!” This often leads to grabbing a chocolate bar in the check-out lane. (Admit it. You’ve been there, too!) RitterSport is the usual culprit, with their seasonal flavors. There have been some good combinations, but not everything is a winner.

And they aren’t the only ones. Lindt has some new flavors of chocolate out right now with the phrase “Trial price” or something to that effect on it, so naturally I caved and bought some, even though I was a little unsure about how they’d taste. I picked up two flavors. Pomegranate chili? Yum. Blueberry lavender? Umm…good try, but it tastes like soap.

Way back when, while I was spending my year abroad in Paris, my roommate and I bought some Lindt key lime pie chocolate. It was absolutely revolting.As poor students, we didn’t want to waste the chocolate, so we ate it anyway. But we had to psych each other up to do it, so we put on “The Eye of the Tiger” and videoed our reactions to the chocolate. It’s one of those things where you probably have to have been there in order to find it funny. I looked back through all my old photos and couldn’t find the video. Bummer.

image from Lindt.de

This week I bought wasabi chocolate. And I have to say that this stuff is pretty damn good! I’m definitely buying that one again. And this sea salt chocolate was so delicious that I ate two-thirds of the bar without even realizing it, all in the span of about 15 minutes. Oops.

And while we’re on the topic of strange chocolates, I saw this potato chip chocolate via Joanna Goddard at A Cup of Jo. And the same company makes maple bacon chocolate. Both sound really good!

A different brand here in Germany (can’t remember the name) makes peanut butter and ketchup chocolate, “American style”. I’m not sure Americans would have ever thought of this, and the idea of it was not very pleasing. But it’s actually not as bad as it sounds! I had told one of my classes about it and they dared me to try it, so the next week I brought it in and we all were surprised to find it tasted pretty good!

So, would you try any of these ones? What kinds of weird chocolate bars have you had before?

3 thoughts on “Wait…WHAT kind of chocolate is THAT?

  1. I bought the Lindt wasabi last week and looooved it! I’m going to keep an eye out for that chili one as well. I had a really good espresso chocolate from the fancy health-food store too, but I can’t remember what brand it was. 😦

Leave a Reply

