Mom’s old picture

My mom recently emailed me and my brother this old picture of her with her parents. She’s the oldest of three, and this was before her brother and sister were born. She told us the story behind this picture, and I thought it was so nice that I wanted to share it with you.

One of my cousins uploaded this picture – I think I’m around 2 or 3 in this photo, so it was 1962 or 1963.  It’s kind of hard to see.  I kind of vaguely remember the house – it was over in Laurel.  Not the one we moved to when we got back from Okinawa, but a different one.  I remember sitting in the kitchen on a winter day – mom had the oven door open to warm up the kitchen and I got to drink “coffee” in my own miniature coffee cup!  I remember mom telling me to go look out the window to see if it had snowed, and it had!  She was so smart!  LOL!  I think it was while living in this house that I cut my foot when I went blackberry picking with my mom – I had on flip-flops and put my foot into a broken beer bottle that was broken in half – it looked like my foot would just fit perfectly. It did fit, but I scraped the edge – I still have the scar on my foot!  Also, at that time toothpaste was a powder that you sprinkled on your hand and wet a little – I got into it and used too much and it BURNED!  Spicy toothpaste!  😀 That is all I remember.  I remember that better than what happened last week, so I think I’m officially old.

I remember when my Grandma was still alive, she went through a family photo album and told me stories. I really wish I had recorded that, or had it written down somewhere. Now it’s too late; this past April marked 7 years since she died. We all still miss her a lot in my family. She passed away right before I studied abroad in France.

Thanks, Mom, for sharing these little stories. We’ll have to go through some more pictures like this the next time I’m visiting. I want to hear everything.

P.S. I love that my mom uses emoticons and says LOL. I’d say that’s proof she’s not officially old. 

2 thoughts on “Mom’s old picture

Leave a Reply

