Pfingsten & Potato Prints

Pfingsten – a.k.a. Pentecost – is a public holiday in Germany. It’s our third of three days off on May, which pretty much makes May the best month ever to be in Germany.

So today we’re taking it easy. If the weather cooperates, we may go outside for a walk or something. Our normal Sunday Tatort viewing with friends is taking place today instead, so that’s what we’ll be doing this evening. Barbecuing with friends and watching Tatort. I thankfully had the foresight to buy some sausages for that on Saturday, since you can’t buy meat on Sundays and all the grocery stores are closed today.

Those of you on facebook and instagram have already seen these, but I made some potato stamp prints to hang above the fish tank. Ever since I saw this idea on the Woman’s Day blog (via pinterest), I’ve been dying to try this project. So while Tobias was gone last week, I had a lot of free time and finally decided to make this happen.

I’m so glad I did! I love the way it turned out! Mixing up the indigo paint was fun, and stamping with the potatoes was even better. I left the big canvas unfinished because I think it looks more interesting that way, and it really shows off the lighter streak of paint there at the top.

Tobias says it looks like a mountain panorama. He likes it, too.

2 thoughts on “Pfingsten & Potato Prints

Leave a Reply

