Checking in with my One Little Word

My new desktop wallpaper!

Let me just say this. My year has been a bit rough. But I would be remiss to say that it hasn’t also been good. It has. And through the storms, I want to remember that – to create my own sunshine. To look back and acknowledge the good in the past few months.

This month’s task for the One Little Word project was to check in with your word. We’ve reached the halfway point and it’s always good when you’re working on such a long-term project to stop in the middle of it, evaluate what is working and what isn’t, and then you are able to see more clearly how to move forward with the rest.

In case you don’t remember, my word is happy.

To begin, I thought it would be good to look back on my thoughts at the start of this project. So I reread this post, the post I wrote on the way back from Bali, the calm before the storm, so to speak. Holy cow. I had no idea then that the next few months would be a whirlwind of emotions, big life changes and loss. The day I wrote that post, I got home and got a positive pregnancy test. Two of them. But…it wasn’t meant to be. Just three weeks later, we lost the baby. An early loss, at 10 weeks, but devastating nonetheless. It’s hard to know how to write about this kind of thing, so I just haven’t until now. I imagine those of you who’ve been through this kind of thing understand what I’m talking about.

Back on the first day of the new year, in that post where I announced my word, these words in particular that I wrote at the end of that post jumped off the screen at me:

Choosing a word like that is obviously a bit intimidating. While I am sure there will be lots of happy moments this year, choosing such a word feels almost like I’m inviting a challenge. That I will really be tested. That there will be some times where it will be extremely difficult to be happy. That’s the way life goes. But I believe there is something to say for choosing happiness and letting that goal shape your thoughts and interactions with people. Recognizing the things I have to be happy about.

If only I’d known then just how much I would need to choose happiness, that it wouldn’t always come easy. And perhaps that’s why I’ve been neglecting my word. I’ve not really been thinking about it as much as I’d like.
So in order to reflect on my word more often in the second half of this year, I am introducing a weekly feature about happiness here on the blog. I’ll be sharing links, pictures, and lists of things that have made me feel happy that week. So I can look back and remember all of those happy moments, in the hopes that one day, they’ll outshine the hard stuff. And for me, Friday seems to be the perfect day for that, to focus on the good and the happy. If you’re like me, you probably ride into each weekend with a little happier feeling anyway.
Maybe you’ll play along and share in the comments, too. That would make me happy.
2 thoughts on “Checking in with my One Little Word

  1. So sorry for your loss. Really admire and thank you for your honesty. Sometimes it’s not easy to understand why these things happen but I hope you’re at a stage where the sun is creeping over the horizon. All the best, Nene.

Leave a Reply

