My new plant: Calathea!

I was SO excited to bring this home on Wednesday this past week. In fact, I was so enthusiastic about this that Tobias insisted on taking a picture of my big grin as I walked in with this giant bundle of joy plant in my arms.

Multiple times a day, I have to walk past a flower shop that’s on the way back to my apartment. And I’d been eyeing this one in the window ever since they got it in a week or two ago. I had been to a friend’s apartment and she had another similar variety of plant that I just loved and decided I had to have one of my own! They didn’t have that exact plant, however – hers was a calathea lancifolia – but I think I like this one even better. From what I can tell, it seems to be a calathea makoyana, which has much wider leaves with a deep purple underside. It’s the biggest plant I’ve bought yet, and I hope I don’t kill it right away. This one needs more watering than my other plants, so I’ll have to remember to take good care of it. (And hope my neighbors will water the plants – and our fish! – while we’re gone!)

5 thoughts on “My new plant: Calathea!

Leave a Reply

