One more week

Exactly one week from today, I get to see this little girl.

Actually, I think she’ll be at the beach with my sister-in-law and her family on the day I arrive, but I will get to see her a few days later and I can’t wait to meet her in person. I mean, I’ve met her before, but that was when she was 2 months old, and again at 9 months old for my wedding. She’s now 21 months old (almost two!) and has developed quite a personality. She also now knows who I am, and I wonder what it’ll be like when she sees I’m not just inside a computer screen or in a picture. That I’m not only two-dimensional. I can’t wait to spoil her with all the gifts I’ve been collecting for her since last summer! Maybe I’ll spread out the gifts and give her one each day – I’ll be the cool aunt who gives her a present every day! Ha!

I’m looking forward to seeing my family, too. Man. So ready.

So at this time next week, I’ll be in Istanbul waiting for my next flight to Washington. Flying the wrong direction to Turkey to turn around and get back to DC was the cheapest flight we could get. 300€ less than the other flights via Heathrow like we normally do.

Tobias won’t be flying with me, as we had originally planned. He has an exciting job in Chile exactly during the week my family will be at the beach. Big bummer, but after a lot of trouble rebooking his ticket, he was able to arrange it so he can fly into Washington DC on the 6th. Two days after our first anniversary. We’ll just have to celebrate 1 year & 2 days instead of celebrating together on our actual first anniversary. But we’ll have a lifetime of other anniversaries so I’m not worried about this one. I’m so glad he’ll still be able to come and see my family and friends, too.

This week’ll go by in a flash. I just know it.

Look at this girl. Isn’t she just gorgeous?

One thought on “One more week

  1. Celebrating one year and two days sounds perfect! Dare to be different, don’t follow the crowd. Do two years three days next year!

Leave a Reply

