Back to school!

So…I’ve signed up for a beginner’s Dutch course at the local Volkshochschule (VHS). It starts today and I’m SO excited!

I’ve been meaning to sign up for a language class for a while now. But until now, I haven’t been able to fit it into my schedule. But there was an opening, and then there was a Dutch class available. Dutch was on my list of languages I’d like to learn one day…so I did it! I signed up!

I still want to take a German class sometime and get more confident in my speaking skills in German, but I speak well enough to get by and most times not to have to worry about it so much.

Part of the reason why I’m happy to live in Europe is that I’m a total language nerd. I studied both French and German in college, and my absolute favorite class of all time was French phonetics. It doesn’t get any more language nerdy than that! But when it comes to German, it’s been a long time since I’ve felt excited about the ability to speak it. I used to get such a buzz from my language classes, and I feel it’s time for another challenge.

So when people ask me why I’m learning Dutch, I say, “Oh, just for fun.” It’s such a funny-sounding language, too! It’s definitely somewhere in between German and English, which is also particularly interesting for me. A new challenge and a new chance to get excited about languages again!

School Supplies

I took advantage of this opportunity to do some back-to-school shopping. Another one of my passions is having pretty office supplies!

I got some plain gray Moleskine ruled notebooks and I printed out a title for it, glued it on, and spruced it up with some [new!] neon pink polka-dotted washi tape! The font is Canter Bold 3D – I think it’s my new favorite!

I also got some new pens and was highly impressed with & amused by these erasable ones. (Pilot Frixion)

Class starts tonight at 5:45! Can’t wait! I hope I like it!

5 thoughts on “Back to school!

    • Yep! I’m excited and a teensy bit nervous! It’s been a while since I’ve learned a new language.

      I have a coworker who is a native speaker of Dutch (and French and English, lucky bastard!) and he told me that in his opinion, it’s like Plattdeutsch with an accent. Can’t wait to find out!

    • Oh and I also heard a lot of Dutch people speaking while on our honeymoon in Bali, since it used to be a Dutch colony. I could sometimes pick out meaning in their conversations from the similarity to German words!

Leave a Reply

