Fall-ing in love.

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird, I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.George Eliot, English novelist

Autumn always brings a sense of excitement. It’s a season of change. A time to bundle up and hunker down, to enjoy crisp mornings and candlelit evenings. The smells of cinnamon, apple pies. Every year, I fall in love with the season all over again.

The beginning of fall is also the best part. Where the anticipation is still there, when the leaves have just started to change and fall, but the trees are not yet bare. Oh, and stepping on all the crunchy leaves. Definitely my favorite part of fall!

I always complain about the cooler Hamburg summers, but the second it hit September, I was okay with it. Though we had 21 days of summer still in September, I’d already flipped the switch in my mind. It was September, and that means fall, and it’s okay that it’s so chilly out.

So I celebrated and bought some decorations for this new season. Some ceramic pumpkins, including a cute little jack-o-lantern, and some mums. Just little touches but they make me smile. Who knows how long the mums will last, especially with my terrible gardening skills. But the pumpkins will last well into November and Thanksgiving, and then? Christmas. Hehe. I’m so excited already! First things first, though.

What do you love most about autumn?

2 thoughts on “Fall-ing in love.

  1. I posted about autumn today as well. 🙂
    I love sunny autumn days when everything is bright and colourful. It doesn’t necessarily have to be warm, but the sun should at least be out!
    Later, when it’s all grey and cold autumn starts to lose it’s charm for me.

    • I read your post, too! 🙂 It’s funny, because I didn’t notice that there were already some yellow leaves on the trees (just barely!) until I saw your picture, but now I’m noticing that everywhere.

      I totally agree about the sun. Crisp air and bright colors are the best.

Leave a Reply

