Celebrate life

Well, after all that bad news about my fishies dying last week, we do have something to be thankful for.

Now, for some good news. Finally. And I’d like to share it here in the form of a video:

Yay, right!?

I’ve been holding out on you, I know.

This is a large part of the reason why there’s been such a dry spell here on the blog lately. Partially from first trimester exhaustion, but also because it’s hard to write about other things while keeping this big of a secret!

After two miscarriages this year, one at 10 weeks and the other at 8-9 weeks, we’ve finally made it into the second trimester with a seemingly healthy and thriving baby. We are so very thankful. I’ll be 15 weeks pregnant on Wednesday–that’s almost 4 months pregnant, for those of you who are confused by the whole weeks thing.

Having had losses definitely makes you more nervous to share good news, for fear of later receiving bad news that you’ll [again] have to share with everyone else. I do feel more confident with every good appointment I have, but it’s still hard. My next appointment is on Friday, and I considered waiting to share until after that. But you know what? I made this video (and Tobi helped) this weekend, and we are so excited to share some good news, no matter what happens.

So if things continue to go well, we’ll be parents in mid-May next year. Amazing. We’re feeling so blessed for this precious gift.

This baby happened out of the blue…in the month immediately following my last miscarriage on August 1st. So something about this just feels…meant to be.

19 thoughts on “Celebrate life

  1. Yay! Yay! YAY!!! PS I love that the same sweet heart is used in this vid as in the Save the Date – SO PERFECT!!!! And I also super duper love the shooting-star effect of the falling confetti!!! Congratulations! LOVE YOU!

    • I LOVE that you noticed I used the same heart in this video! I thought that would be a nice touch, too. 🙂 Love you too! Thanks so much for your words of congratulations, both here and by email! 🙂

  2. How wonderful! I remember that feeling of not talking to people, because…well… what is there to say? Now, just a word of advice, when you are feeling this way or that way….do not…I repeat…do not go online and search for information about it. You will get scared out of your mind and no information will be good…it will ALL be bad. Stay away from pregnant mommy forums. Seriously. Do surround yourself with people you love. Enjoy the crazy ride. It is awesome!

    • I saw your Friday Letters last week and felt guilty knowing I was going to announce my pregnancy soon. Sorry, dear!

      Thanks for sending me your kind wishes anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

