Thanksgiving 2013

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you in the States! May you have wonderful family time and a delicious meal today!

We had our Thanksgiving dinner last Saturday. We invited a bunch of people over and had all of the typical Thanksgiving dishes: cranberry relish, cranberry sauce, sweet potato casserole with marshmallows, green bean casserole, stuffing, and mashed potatoes with gravy. Oh, and a 7.6-kilo (16 pound-) turkey, of course!

It was my first time making my own cranberry jelly from scratch. I love the Ocean Spray canned stuff, of course, but I do have to admit that it’s even better when made from scratch! All you need is cranberries, sugar, orange juice, and a green apple! I used Martha Stewart’s recipe and it was as easy as pie!

Oh, speaking of pie…I made two of them. I made the first one on the Friday evening before our feast. It came out looking and smelling great, but it was darker than I remembered. It wasn’t until I was making the second pie (same recipe) that I realized I’d put in two tablespoons of cinnamon instead of two teaspoons! That explains the dark color! Both pies tasted great, and we had enough to have leftover pie for breakfast two days in a row afterwards. Mmm!

We used our nice china that we inherited from Oma when she died. It’s always more work washing them by hand afterwards, but I do love the touch of fanciness it brought to the evening.

I made some place cards using some stickers that my buddy Peter had sent me, and I also made a quick paper leaf garland to hang up. I’d gotten the leaves from a craft store (Idee) a few weeks prior and it took just about 10 minutes to fold them in half for a crease and tape them to some twine and call it a day! I think I’ll probably use it again next year!

So, Happy Thanksgiving to all of you who are celebrating today! Have fun, enjoy that food and don’t stuff yourself too much!

And stay safe tomorrow if you’re hitting the stores!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2013

  1. Everything looks beautiful – your table, the lights, and the food – gosh, the food looks amazing. I only regret I couldn’t be there to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

