It’s a boy!

First of all, Merry Christmas Eve!

This is the big day here in Germany, so we’ve got plenty of plans here. Church this afternoon, then going over to our friends’ house for some Christmas Eve dinner (fondue!) and going to their church for the midnight service. There will be some unwrapping of presents today too for my dear German husband. The other half will be for tomorrow!

Second, I announced on facebook this week after finding out the sex of my little one, but for those of you who aren’t facebook friends, we found out that it’s 80% sure we’re having a boy! (Which is not all that surprising because it goes along with my gut feeling I’ve had since the beginning, but it’s also surprising because it’s the first little boy on both of our sides of the family! Tobi has two nieces (and his cousin has two daughters too), and my brother has a daughter. The first boy grandbaby!

We posted a few announcements because I couldn’t decide which I liked best. So here — you get to see all three!

And a last one that’s a little silly:

Most importantly, the baby is doing well and seems to be healthy. It’s starting to grow on me…being able to say “he” and “him” and “baby boy” and to really start thinking about names for real now. I pretty much always called the baby a he, even before I knew for sure. A mother’s intuition, I guess. Another big indication that it was a boy was because I was talking about Porsches in class once and the baby started kicking up a storm. Since the Porsche 911 is Tobi’s dream car, I thought, “Like father, like son! It must be a boy!”

There’s one possible concern with a low-lying placenta (minor placenta previa), but the doctor didn’t seem too nervous yet. Apparently these things move up as the belly grows, so I’m hoping that’s what will happen in my case. For now, we won’t worry too much about the possibility that it won’t move up (in which case a C-section would be necessary) and just celebrate our healthy baby BOY!

So we’re enjoying this big news and we’re glad we got to know before Christmas. In fact, the day we found out was December 20th, which was the day Tobias proposed to me two years ago in 2011. A lovely day overall!

7 thoughts on “It’s a boy!

  1. Exciting times, so happy for you both! In the same (but different) way, my brother had the first girl in the family for 2 generations; my grandfather had been offering an award for years to the first parents to have a girl.

  2. So excited for you!! It does seem so much more real being able to say “he” or “she” – such a deeper connection! Yay for babies!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

