Assembly of the PAX!

Ohhhhh boy! This past weekend was spent doing an insane amount of work to get our new PAX wardrobe together. For those of you who follow me on facebook or instagram, you’ve seen pictures of our progress along the way.

These things always take longer than you expect them to take, and we pretty much spent a full three days getting this thing together.

For LACK* of a better idea…let’s raise the bed!

*God, I love me some IKEA puns!

It didn’t help that we started (and completed) another project in the middle of this process: raising our bed! When we got the PAX frame together, we realized that getting a wider bed may not be a good choice for us at the moment, especially with a baby coming and either a co-sleeper or a crib will be coming next to our bed.

But we did realize that the LACK floating shelves we had were exactly the same width as the foot and head our bed frame, and we had the idea of raising the bed to get that under-the-bed storage without buying a new bed! After one frantic trip to the Baumarkt 20 minutes before it closed, we had the shelves cut and the supplies needed to screw it all together.

We’ve slept for a few nights in our “new” bed and it’s pretty sturdy, although we will be stopping by the Baumarkt one more time to get some more metal plates to reinforce it even further.

It’s funny though how you can just feel you’re up higher, even with your eyes closed! I love it! And it’s so much easier to get out of bed than it was before, especially as my belly is getting bigger! Plus, it’s really nice to stay in bed and look out the window, watching the trains come in at the station. It feels like an entirely new room!

Let’s get industrial

Also somewhere this weekend, the idea of tearing down the awful Raufaser wallpaper behind the bed to make an industrial-style accent wall also popped into my head. I mentioned it to Tobias, and he was on board.

 

 

So far I’ve showed it to my sister-in-law and my friend Laura, who both said it wasn’t really their style, but I like it. Especially with the white glass and mirror doors, our room feels a whole lot brighter and whiter…and this wall keeps things from feeling too washed out. And we can always paint it whenever we change our minds!

I wonder, though, why the workers put such a long line of spackle across the wall? What were they covering up?

Snowball effect

Isn’t it funny how sometimes things can turn into a much bigger project than when you first began? Putting together our new wardrobe turned into a whole bedroom makeover! New closet, new bed, and new look!

We now have enough room for a crib next to the bed and for a changing table next to the wardrobe. So it looks like the baby won’t have his own room for quite a while still and we won’t have to (/get to…) convert the office into a nursery anytime soon. Makes me feel a little sad because I really want to decorate a nursery! But living in an apartment provides far less space, and if we can have the baby in our room to begin with, it’ll be more practical anyway.

Lots of people assume we’re going to have to look for a new apartment when the baby is here, but I don’t think that’s necessarily the case. 82 square meters still seems like quite a lot of space for our little family, and I could imagine staying in this place until our next kid is a toddler.

Besides, we’re not allowed to move anytime soon! Not after putting together that PAX wardrobe.

I will rue the day we have to take that thing back apart, move it, and put it back together again.

10 thoughts on “Assembly of the PAX!

  1. I love that you decided to tear down the wallpaper and leave the wall bare as an accent — fabulous idea! And with 80 square meters, I’m sure you’ll have plenty of time to spend in the apartment before you need to disassemble the PAX. 🙂

    • Thanks! We’re thinking we need some awesome, large-scale modern art to go on that wall. Something colorful!

      I think you’re right about staying for a long while. Even when you have plans to move, it usually takes much longer to find a new place than you think! We were really lucky finding this place…it was the first place we viewed when we decided to find a bigger apartment, and we were lucky enough to be chosen!

  2. I love love love my PAX, but I paid the fee to have Ikea both deliver it (since I don’t have a car) and to assemble it.

    Every other Ikea item I have, including my bed, I put together myself. But for the PAX, I’m convinced that having the pros do the installation is the best idea I’ve had so far this decade. It took two professional installers around two hours to put the thing together. They had four hands, active knowledge of how it fits together, and a stepladder. I had none of those things, and it would have taken me a week to get the thing together on my own.

    Lookin’ good, though!

  3. Hey Sarah 🙂

    I just stumbled across your blog looking for a solution to raise my malm bedframe. Your’s looks pretty good! I want to ask though how it is holding up 10 month later?

    • Hey Julia!

      Ours definitely took a bit of work, but we screwed so many brackets onto that thing that it’s pretty darn sturdy. The only thing is that it’s just recently, in the last month or so, become a bit creaky-sounding when getting in and out of bed. I’m not sure what can be done to help that. But as far as it holding together, it’s done very well.

      Good luck finding a solution!

  4. Can you tell me how you raised the bed? It looks to me like you used IKEA shelving on edge under the frame. Which pieces did you use? If I can do that, I might put 2x4s back there and well and screw the 2x4s into the frame. I’m very excited to hear your response.

  5. Soooooo, I just answered my own question …by reading your post where you discuss the LACK shelving. Sorry to be so dense.

Leave a Reply

