Weather lore

Happy March!

You know what they say about March, right? I wonder if the old saying will ring true again this year…

I love little sayings about “weather lore”, as wikipedia calls it. Between my parents and/or school, some of these little sayings have become ingrained in my mind.

“Red sky in the morning, sailors take warning. Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.”

and my favorite, along with its accompanying joke perhaps only Americans will get… “April showers bring May flowers…”  (…and what do Mayflowers bring? …PILGRIMS!)

I learned a French one last year: “Noël au balcon, Pâcques au tison.” A warm Christmas brings a cold Easter – literally, Christmas on the balcony, Easter at the embers.

Do you know any others? I wasn’t familiar with the other ones listed on the wikipedia page.

4 thoughts on “Weather lore

  1. You know the german one about april? “April, April der macht was er will”, which means as much as that anything can happen in April. From sunshine and mild temperatures to hail and storm within a few hours 😉

  2. LOL, I love that joke! I’d never heard it before but I definitely get it 🙂

    Our version of the first one was with shepherds, not sailors.

    There’s one in the UK that says if it rains on St. Swithin’s Day it will continue to rain for the next 40 days. I have no idea when St. Swithin’s Day even is though! (OK, just looked it up… it’s 15th July).

Leave a Reply

