Sunrise, sunrise

After going to bed at about 9:30 last night, I guess my body had had enough sleep by 4:30 a.m., because I woke up then and couldn’t get back to sleep. I had some tea and tried to sleep again for a bit, but then the baby was kicking so much that I was wide awake.

I propped myself up in bed, grabbed my iPad, and wrote a list of things I still have to do before the baby comes. Since those to-do-list kinds of thoughts are also pretty hard to push out of one’s mind when trying to sleep. I’m 35 weeks pregnant today. That’s two weeks until I’m considered full term, and 5 weeks until my due date. I feel so blessed to have come this far.

So I typed along next to my husband, whose sleep was thankfully not disturbed by my tapping on the touchscreen keyboard. At some point, my stomach started growling, so I got out of bed for a bowl of cereal, and I’ve been up ever since.

At around 6:45, I noticed the sun was rising and I was missing it from the kitchen, so I moved over to the living room to take a look. It was a magnificent sunrise, and totally unexpected because the weather forecast for today is more rain. 

I really enjoyed this quiet moment to myself, just me and the sunrise and a baby kicking inside. (He must be practicing his karate moves today or something…)

 

Spring is the best thing ever. I love that every day, the tree in our backyard gets fuller and fuller with leaves. That our oregano has started growing back all on its own in our planter boxes (the other herbs have not!) and is thriving. That the twigs from our apple tree have also started sprouting. I’m going to decorate them later today with Easter eggs, since it’s only a week and a half until Easter and if I wait much longer, it’ll be too late.

It feels good to have already started my day, although I’ll probably need a nap later. And soon I will be seeing a lot more sunrises as I have a nursing baby waking me up, making sure I don’t miss these quiet morning moments.

When was the last time you sat and watched the sunrise?

5 thoughts on “Sunrise, sunrise

    • That’s so funny, Susanne! I actually read your post before the sunrise happened and had forgotten it was one of your questions! 🙂 Guessing you saw the sunrise this morning too, eh?

  1. Sarah, I can’t believe we’ve hit 5 weeks!! Almost there! I can barely think about anything else other than everything I left to do too–it’s keeping me up way too late at night haha

Leave a Reply

