One month to go

So…today is exactly one calendar month until my due date – May 14th!

I can’t believe how quickly time has gone, and I know from what other parents say that it will go by even more quickly after the baby is born. The days are long, but the years are short, as Gretchen Rubin from The Happiness Project always says. (This is one of my favorite books ever, by the way!)

I’ll be exactly 36 weeks on Wednesday. One month feels like all the time in the world, but also so soon. And considering the fact that I may or may not have that whole month before our lives get twist-turned upside-down, to borrow a line from the Fresh Prince theme song…it’s like living in the Twilight Zone. The baby could come early, or he could come late. It’s really exciting and strange, not knowing exactly when this baby will choose to make his entrance into the world.

Today I will celebrate by finally packing that hospital bag. And setting up the stroller that our cousins gifted us that came in the mail today. And taking a minute or two to truly appreciate the gift of life who’s currently kicking me in the ribs. Can’t wait to meet you, little man!

15 thoughts on “One month to go

    • Thanks Tracy!

      I didn’t know you lived in Rhode Island! We drove up there once on a road trip a few summers ago and it was seriously one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. We camped out by the water. So lovely!

      • It is beautiful–for such a tiny little place (smaller than Hamburg), it sure has a lot of coastline (more than 400 miles).

        Little known fact, all that coastline means tons of secret little coves, which made this one of the easiest places to be a run rummer or a pirate. There still are a surprising number of people here who laugh, naturally, just like pirates (I’m not a native, which is why I notice things like that).

  1. I don’t think we had a bag packed and I was a week overdue. Bahahaha! But that is how we roll. You do look beautiful. I send you blessings of nights sound sleeps without having to get up and pee. Have a glass of wine, 2oz, just help the sleep take effect. And enjoy this time of wonder. And when the boy decides to show up, enjoy every minute. It will be a crazy wonderful ride. And if you need anything….drop me a line. Mommies need mommies. 🙂

  2. Congratulations 🙂 I just went through all of this last year so I know just how you feel! …although you’re a little more organised than I was, because I didn’t manage to pack my hospital bag till I was overdue 😉 My son is now 6.5 months old: it’s been a crazy time and the biggest challenge and steepest learning curve of my life (!) – but it is just the most incredible and joyful journey, more so than I could have ever possibly imagined. Alles gute! 😀

    • Aw, thanks, Frau Dietz!

      I think I only seem organized because there’s still SO much left to do! To be honest, the bag itself is not actually packed yet. All of our stuff to pack is sitting in the Stubenwagen. Lol.

Leave a Reply

