Dyeing Easter eggs!

Is it just me, or does dyeing look horribly wrong as a word? There aren’t so many words in the English language that have an “e” before the “-ing” suffix. But obviously if it weren’t there, it’d be “dying Easter eggs”, and we certainly don’t want any of that around here, thank you very much!

Okay, back to the real post. I bought a dye pack from the store like…three years ago, eager to decorate some Easter eggs, but I never got around to it. This year, however, I planned ahead and finally got to use up that package! Tobias laughed at me a little bit, because I woke up before him on the Saturday morning before Easter to hard boil 20 eggs to use for dyeing later that day.

Truth is, I just woke up early needing to pee (ohh, pregnancy) and then I was so ravenously hungry (again, pregnancy), I decided to have breakfast before coming back to bed to sleep for another few hours. So I hard boiled those eggs and then ate some cereal and had planned go to back to bed, but then Tobias woke up and we had another breakfast together.

Tobias and I taught each other new techniques the other didn’t know for coloring eggs. I taught him the trick with the white crayon (and then proceeded to use other color crayons as well, which turned out really fun!) and he showed me how to use bits of old pantyhose and leaves to make imprints on the eggs. It was a fun thing! His cousin Christoph called while we were working on them, so that’s when I decided to try to wash some dye off of my hands and take some pictures.

My favorite new thing to do was abstract eggs using thin washi tape, dyeing it, and then peeling it off. We ended up with very cool results on those ones!

It was really fun doing this together! Something I haven’t done since I was a kid! It’s a really great idea for a date night.

And you won’t be able to see it in these pictures, but one of these eggs has our baby’s name on it. Wink wink.

4 thoughts on “Dyeing Easter eggs!

  1. Is it just me, or does dyeing look horribly wrong as a word? There aren’t so many words in the English language that have an “e” before the “-ing” suffix

    …this is why I avoid the whole debacle altogether and just call it “coloring Easter eggs” instead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

