Chop chop!

Well, I finally did it! I went and got a haircut this afternoon!

For comparison, here’s a before picture…

And again, after!

It feels so good to have finally gotten it cut! As always, I feel about 100 pounds lighter, and it’s nice to feel fresh again.

My long hair was pretty, and I’m kind of sad to see it go, but it had definitely gotten to the point where I just threw it up into a messy bun most of the time anyway. Now when baby gets here, I won’t have to worry as much about it getting in the way while holding baby or nursing.

As for the cut, it was literally nothing special. I probably could have even done it myself if I could cut a straight line to save my life, but I chickened out of trying. I went to the hairdresser’s down the street and asked them to just chop off about 3-4 inches. She was like, “Are you sure??” I told her, “Yes, I know it’s a lot, but the last time I had it cut was back in August before I got pregnant.” I’d say it was about time to get rid of those dead ends!

I was pretty tempted to go back to bangs again, but decided not to go there quite yet. I hear that postpartum hair tends to fall out in big clumps and can leave you with bald spots – so sexy, right?? – so I will save the bangs for another day. Might be just what I need a few months from now to make me feel pretty and feminine again when my clothes are covered in spit-up and I can’t remember the last time I had a decent night’s sleep.

Tobias is in Paris right now for work, but he’s coming back on Monday. After that…baby can come any time!

9 thoughts on “Chop chop!

    • It really was! Last time it was that long was when I lived in Paris from 2009-2010, right before coming here. It was kind of longer for my wedding in 2012 but not that long!

      I must say it feels really good to have it short again!

    • Thanks! 🙂 Yes, I’m glad it’s still long enough to pull back into a ponytail if needed. I’m excited to try some half-up half-down styles, too, which I used to do quite often when my hair was shorter. With the longer hair, it was just too unmanageable.

  1. Your new hair looks great 🙂 I’m very envious, I could totally do with a haircut myself – I’ve just spent 2 months going through the post partum hair loss… I had just no idea how bad that was going to be (sorry, but noone told me about these things when I was pregnant so I’ve gone for all out extreme honesty on everything since!). It’s still falling out a bit but has started to grow back too, which means I have hilarious fuzzy temples. Boy do I need a haircut. I love your top by the way, is it a nursing top or just a maternity one?

    • I like your honesty policy. 🙂 It’s far better than feeling utterly shocked when it happens to you! Post partum hair loss sounds pretty frustrating. But it’s all worth it, right? 😉 Right!?

      Just wearing a normal (one size bigger) striped tank top underneath another (one size bigger) t-shirt. I only have two maternity shirts and one dress — otherwise, I’ve been able to wear all of my normal stuff! (Except maternity jeans, that is. I started wearing those at 11 weeks!)

Leave a Reply

