Pretty flowers

My mom and dad sent me this lovely flower arrangement for Mother’s Day. It was a really nice surprise.

There are peonies and these lovely brain-like flowers – reminds me of coral, actually.

And one with the bump, the reason they sent me these flowers:

Thanks, Mom and Dad!

To be honest, Mother’s Day, just like other holidays, is kind of a double-edged sword. Such a happy time, and it’s nice to celebrate those people who are special to you. But it can also be an incredibly sad time for people who have lost loved ones. For those who have lost their own mothers, or those who have lost babies or children, or those who can’t conceive, it’s a rough day. Last year on Mother’s Day, I bought myself some flowers and put my first baby’s ultrasound picture nestled amongst the flowers, and I cried a lot. I got pregnant again that very same month but lost that one, too.

This year, with a full-term baby growing inside me, I feel very lucky. It’s amazing what can happen in a year. I’m not feeling terribly eloquent, and there are so many who have said it better, but I just wanted to say that I celebrate with those who celebrate and mourn with those who mourn. My heart goes out to each and every one of you.

One thought on “Pretty flowers

Leave a Reply

