IKEA Hamburg Altona

Though it has been the subject of a lot of debate and even some protests, Hamburg has recently gotten something very special: our very own IKEA. Now, we already had two IKEAS, actually, but they’re the typical kind – on the side of the highway, and though they were accessible by public transportation, it always required a long trip to the outskirts of town and a lot of effort carrying home one’s purchases.

Now, we have an IKEA right smack dab in the middle of the city – easily accessible to all by bus and train…and if you live close enough like I do, you can walk there! It’s the very first IKEA of its kind worldwide.

A lot of people in the neighborhood aren’t thrilled about it, since it probably means higher rent for them and fewer places to park, not to mention that it’s in an area with many smaller businesses that may not make it much longer due to that.

But I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I’m a big fan of IKEA and love going there to browse. (And always end up buying way too much, of course!) I love that I can just go there now without making a whole day of it. And I can have hotdogs and Köttbullar whenever I want!

Is there an IKEA near you? Are you a fan?

 

4 thoughts on “IKEA Hamburg Altona

  1. such a cute picture of Theo at the end! I LOVE IKEA and I am as sad about not being there to experience it as I am about the DD… 😉 But nice that you enjoy it!

  2. I love it and love to hate it. Now that I feel comfortable driving on the Autobahn, I expect more of my paychecks will be going to plastic crap I don’t need. 😉

  3. Hi from Greece!We do love IKEA too and as we like to move a lot we like their furniture.Here in Thessaloniki is in a really nice area,close to the sea but of course you need either a car or a taxi to go there.There are some bus-lines from downtown which arrive there but not the best way to arrive.

  4. From what I’ve read the local business were actually happy to have IKEA as many were struggling to find customers in the past years. Personally, I love having it so close to home, going to one of the “traditional” IKEAs with a baby was such a hassle, if I need anything now I can just drop by during our lunchtime stroll. And if she wakes up, well home is close enough even for the patience of a 4-month-old 🙂

Leave a Reply

