One year ago

 

A year ago today, I was pregnant and I didn’t know it.

I had just had my second miscarriage six weeks prior, so I certainly wasn’t expecting to get pregnant again so quickly. The only reason I even tested was because I sobbed so very hard after the eye doctor told me I had to wait 24 hours without contact lenses in before I took a vision test, and I knew it was an incredibly stupid reason to get that upset. And after I cried into my husband’s arms, I was so exhausted that I took a 3-hour nap on the couch.

When I woke up, the thought entered my mind; at first I pushed it aside. No, there’s no way. But what else could explain that amount of exhaustion and moodiness? The question nagged at me until I finally took what I thought would be a wasted test, just to get some peace of mind before I had wine with dinner. Boy was I shocked to see two very clear lines pop up right away. I just repeated, “OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD” over and over again, alone in the bathroom. Tobias came home ten minutes later and at first he didn’t believe me. We were both in awe.

A year ago today, I saw two little lines. And now my baby is here with me, with two little hands and two little feet that I can kiss, and two blue eyes that make my heart melt when I look at them.

What a difference a year makes.

8 thoughts on “One year ago

  1. Love this text 🙂
    So sorry, but no Coffee together this time, Klaus & I are off to Turkey for the next weeks; writing, relaxing, sunbathing, walking. See you in autumn with Tatort and Pumpkin and all these fine things…!

  2. This time last year I was so enormous people were pointing at me in the street 😉 And now, wow, I have a nearly-walking, very chatty, enormous little man completely taking over my life and making me giggle every single day. What a different a year makes indeed! 😀

Leave a Reply

