Kinderreisepass

A few weeks ago, we got Theo’s German passport in preparation for our upcoming flight to Mallorca.

They make special kids’ passports, which can be used all over (except for travel into the USA, but we’ll have his American passport for that) just like a regular passport. It’s not biometric, though they do require a biometric photo. (Although ours was not quite right – his head needed to be a bit larger on the picture, but the lady, thankfully, let it slide!)

Another big difference is that the picture on this one can be renewed, so as he gets older and doesn’t look so babyish anymore (it’s valid for 6 years), I can go in and get a new picture put in. It also costs less than the official passport, and you get it printed right away at your appointment, unlike the official one, which takes a few weeks’ processing time.

Still waiting on his American passport to come in the mail – that one will be important for traveling to the US over Christmas. (Just less than three months and we’ll be there!)

But doesn’t he look so proud?

8 thoughts on “Kinderreisepass

  1. Hi, I’m also an American girl married to a German guy living in Hamburg, and we are expecting our first baby in about one month! I was wondering, did you have to provide an official German translation of your birth certificate in order to register Theo? Which Stadteil was he born in? (Or which hospital did you go to?) Thanks, Jenny!

    • Oh cool! Congratulations! Such an exciting time…! Brings me back!

      We went to the UKE, and we handed in all the documents necessary at the hospital. When we pre-registered, they gave us this envelope that said exactly what we needed. I did not need an official translation (English was accepted!) but I think I did need to add photocopies of my residency card and my passport.

      Good luck with these last few weeks of pregnancy! If there’s anything else I can help with, feel free to contact me!

      • Ok, cool. We are registered at Agaplesion Diakonieklinikum in Eimsbüttel, and they also gave us one of those envelopes. It specifically says that German translations of the birth certificates are required, but I think I’ll give it a try with the English one. Do you remember whether your envelope said that as well? I guess the worst that could happen is they contact us and say they need a translation.

        • Mine said that as well! It’s probably the same envelope, as I think it’s from the Bezirksamt, which should be standardized no matter which Bezirk you live in.

          I decided to chance it with the official translation and not include one, since they didn’t need one for my birth certificate back when I needed it for my marriage paperwork.

          I think that’s on there more for other random languages, especially ones with different alphabets. I’m betting you’ll be fine without including it!

    • Bremen is actually closer to us too, technically, but we went to Berlin! I’ve been there to get my own passport and paperwork stuff done before, plus Tobi’s sisters live in Berlin, so we combined it with a visit.

  2. Hiya – only just found your blog – such a shame as we were in Hamburg a few months back. Your kid is so cute – they grow up so quickly though, I’m sure he won’t look anything like his passport photo in a years time – haha! Happy travelling 🙂

    • Thanks! Bummer about the timing, but I’m glad you stopped by and said hello on my blog anyway! 🙂 He’ll be 5 months tomorrow. Sheesh.

      Funny, I checked out your blog and you recently posted about baby dinosaurs. That’s the first project I did when on maternity leave! Theo loves it. 🙂 Yours look great!

Leave a Reply

