My little Breitmaulfrosch

This is one of my favorite photos of my son and I to date.

makes me feel like a mom

Just a candid shot while I was getting him dressed & ready for his 9-month-old photo shoot. A pile of crumpled clothes in the corner that he was wearing before that, which I deemed not cute enough of an outfit for the photo. Me in my comfy velour sweatpants and glasses and unwashed hair that was still wavy from the braids of the day before, draped over Theo’s head.

This little guy just shines. The way his little toes are sticking out of his pants. That little smile which has earned him the current nickname of Breitmaulfrosch (wide-mouthed frog) from his papa. His little hands, blurred, from waving them around in excitement.

I love this picture of me because I feel like it makes me look like a mom. A natural. Also a little smile on my face as I concentrate on getting him dressed. Secretly very happy that he was letting me get him dressed without complaining and crying.

This is one of the most challenging jobs I’ve ever taken on (because sometimes I don’t have a clue what I’m doing), yet also one of the easiest (because some things just feel so natural). I didn’t really expect to love motherhood as much as I do. I guess before that, I couldn’t really imagine how it would be. It’s harder and lovelier than I ever imagined. But mostly lovely. So much of my heart belongs to this kid now. I’m so lucky to be his mama.

7 thoughts on “My little Breitmaulfrosch

  1. Ditto – about about me and the Mini Dietz though, obviously 😉 …who we also call Breitmaulfrosch 🙂 Perhaps one day we’ll have to have a Breitmaulfrosch-off to see who’s got the Breitest-maulfrosch 😀

    Lovely photo – I have hardly any of the two of us, which makes me a little sad.

    • This comment is pretty much the best. Made me laugh out loud! 🙂
      If you’re usually the one behind the camera, it’s hard to get pictures of you! My husband is the photographer but I take a lot more of our family photos. Sounds like it’s time to play around with the timer mode and try to get some of you both! 🙂

Leave a Reply

