Back in Maryland

Whoo boy, lots to update! But just a quick one for now…

Theo and I flew home to the States on June 2nd. He rocked the plane ride (and I ended up with an extra seat next to me, yay!) and I survived a transatlantic journey alone with my 12-month-old.

My 12-month-old is now a 13-month-old as of yesterday and my mom hosted a[nother] birthday party for him here at our house last weekend. It was so much fun. More on that later once I can access some better pictures. 🙂

I don’t have many pictures right now BECAUSE I FORGOT MY COMPUTER CHARGER. Oops. Tobias is coming in July, so I will have him bring it with him when he comes. So I stole a few off Facebook that my friends and family have posted for now.

It’s strange and interesting how normal everything feels. As if I’d never been away. Which is exactly how I felt last time I went back to Hamburg after Christmas. Everything felt normal there, too. There are a few things I miss, of course — my husband being at the top of that list! — but for the most part, I feel very at home here. Which makes sense, because I’ve still lived here longer than I’ve lived overseas, but one day that balance will shift and I’ll have lived abroad longer than in the place I was born. I wonder what that will feel like. But for now, I’m feeling GREAT and I’m so happy to be a part of my family’s regular, everyday life again. It just feels…comfortable.

Theo’s language skills have increased exponentially since he’s been here. His first new word? CAT. He loves chasing around my mom’s cats. One of them, Murrfee, is pretty mean and generally keeps to herself, but the other, Mollie, is surprisingly patient with Theo and puts up with a lot of not-so-gentle attempts at petting from him. He keeps trying to give her his toys, too. She’s scratched him three times already, which sounds like a lot, but seeing as he spends at least 70% of his day chasing after her, that’s not all that bad. The first day, she scratched him right next to his eye, though — I’m so glad she missed his eyeball!

He’s also been repeating a lot of words, including HAT, EGG, and THANK YOU. And he often points at things and says DAT, asking for more vocabulary words. It’s been fun. I’m not-so-secretly happy that his English is doing so well right now. It will surely change once he’s at his Kita (daycare) come mid-August.

Theo got to see some turtles for the first time yesterday. They were hanging out in the courtyard at my mom’s school. I just love watching him. He’s got such curiosity about everything.

We’ve been thoroughly enjoying this warm, summery weather. Thank God. A real summer. Complete with trips to the pool (or splashing around in the baby pool out back), lunches outside on the deck, and shorts, tee-shirts and flip flops. And finding ways to cool down, like eating fudgesicles or drinking Slurpees. I let Theo have his first taste of both, and he loves them, of course.

Summer is good. Life is good.

One thought on “Back in Maryland

Leave a Reply

