Christmas is coming: Origami Stars

You all know I love Christmas. One of my favorite things about it is all of the fun crafty, DIY projects for the season. I don’t know about you, but for me, once Thanksgiving hits, it’s a whirlwind of activities and fun, seasonal things to do. Which makes it hard to do very many craft projects, of course! So I’m starting now — yes, in September. Before any of the leaves have changed to their autumn colors. It’s early, I know, but there are only 13 weeks left, and about 20 different craft projects I’d love to do. These things take time! And I want to be able to relax a little more during the Christmas season and have as much prepared before-hand as I can this year.

So…that brings me to my first project: five-point origami stars. Because this year, I don’t think it’s a great idea to use my Gram’s vintage ornaments when we have a very active, very curious little toddler in the house who is definitely testing his boundaries. I still plan to teach him that he is not allowed to mess with the tree, but I do want to avoid any breakage of precious ornaments or injuries to my little guy. So I turned to Pinterest to find ideas for non-breakable ornaments.

Sure, Theo could still unfold these ones, but at least my gorgeous, 1950s-style Christmas ornaments won’t turn into piles of shattered glass on the floor. My earliest memory was at Christmastime when I was about 3 years old, and I accidentally broke a tiny blue glass Christmas ornament and it cut my finger. Oops. I’d like to avoid any of those types of situations with Theo!

I followed this video tutorial and my first star was an utter fail. (I’m pretty awful at origami!) Plus, my paper was too difficult to work with. I just used a page from an IKEA catalog (since it was already square!) and it was too thin and flimsy. Once I tried some actual origami paper from the local craft store, it was a whole different story! My stars aren’t perfect, but they actually look like stars and not a dilapidated starfish.

Not a pretty sight, is it?

I had much more success with the real origami paper. Any thicker paper would probably do. I’m very happy with the finished product, and I think these stars will make a nice addition to our tree. In fact, I think I might make a few extras as gifts.

Has anyone else already started any DIY projects for Christmas? Or gotten a head start on their Christmas shopping?

Excuse me while I make a few more while Theo is still napping!

One thought on “Christmas is coming: Origami Stars

Leave a Reply

