Baby steps

How’s spring cleaning going?

There’s always so much to do, yet so little time, isn’t there? I know I am not alone when I say that it feels like I’m constantly cleaning but don’t have much to show for it.

Today I just so happened to be off work, so I decided to tackle at least one or two projects on my list. The first was to make an actual list. Because I’m a list-maker by nature. And because when it’s written down, it’s still a long list, but it’s a lot more organized than in my head. So I went from room to room and wrote up a Word document of things that needed attention. Like organizing kitchen drawers, cleaning out the fridge, and moving up the extra keys somewhere higher out of Theo’s reach. Some are easy tasks (like buying candles for candlesticks or cleaning the mirror in the hallway). Some will take 15-20 minutes, others will take a few hours or a whole afternoon. No matter how big or small the task, I put it on the list.

Then I got started. I chose to rearrange my side of the medicine cabinet in the bathroom. I took everything out and cleaned the shelves from sticky gunk. And in the process, I ditched all of the old products I have. Some of them I’ve had for years. Ain’t nobody got time for Ponds Cold Cream that must have been at least 10 years old. (Eww!) To top it off, I recently discovered an app called Think Dirty, which analyzes and rates cosmetic products based on their ingredients. I was (somewhat) shocked to find out that most of what I had in my bathroom was a 9 or 10 on the dirty scale. While I don’t want to become a total fanatic, it was enough of a kick in the rear to get me to look into better shampoos, conditioners, lotions, deodorant, body wash, and other cosmetic products with more natural ingredients.

Anyway, it was nice to start with a little project that will have a big impact simply because I use this cabinet multiple times every day. I still have 54 other projects on my initial list, and I’m sure other things will come up to add to it as well. But you’ve gotta start somewhere, right?

2 thoughts on “Baby steps

  1. oh yes! why is it when the weather turns lovely you have to stay inside and clean? we did a big declutter/donate project earlier this year – so freeing. i’ve started spring cleaning as well – but i’m too afraid to make a list (that I will fail at)! i just try to grab projects here and there (deep cleaning the bathroom, painting balcony furniture and grill….it feels like more!…etc). but you’re definitely inspiring me to keep it up – and not give up! “baby steps, baby steps, baby steps”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

