Ladybug in disguise

This past weekend, we played outside in the garden. Theo played with the neighbor’s kid in their sandbox and he really enjoyed all of the new toys.

At one point we were all chatting and Theo points inside this bucket he was playing with and says, “Ladybug! Ladybug!” I was excited he pointed that out and went over to see the ladybug.

But was it a ladybug? NOPE. It was a big, black, hairy spider. (Ugh, how I hate spiders…) And Theo fearlessly picked it up. At which point I definitely freaked and tried not to overreact, but I don’t think I did a very good job of it. I don’t even remember what I said to him, but this kid tends to put lots of things in his mouth at the moment and all I could picture was this spider crawling around in Theo’s mouth. He almost ate an earthworm a month ago. I’m not sure which one is worse.

Thankfully, he didn’t eat the spider. I don’t know if he injured the spider or not by picking it up, but the other adults there reacted better than I did and the spider was gone without Theo devouring it.

Sometimes it’s hard to control your reactions as a parent. I certainly don’t want to put it into his mind that insects and eight-legged creatures are something to be scared of. I appreciate his curiosity and his desire to learn about the world around him, hands on.

One thought on “Ladybug in disguise

  1. I ate half a beetle when I was about 3. My mum saw me eating something and made me open my mouth to find half a beetle in there… presumably I had already swallowed the other half. It doesn’t seem to have done me any harm 😉

Leave a Reply

