Welcome, Avi Johannes!

A week ago today, at this very moment of writing this post, it was about 15 minutes before my water broke. I’d been having contractions since breakfast, but they slowed down again while I was at the doctor’s office for my appointment, and at the exam my doctor told me she didn’t think I would be having the baby that day.

Well, my baby decided to prove her wrong. My water broke at 8:45 pm, we were on our way to the hospital at 9:30 — had to get Theo brought over to a neighbor’s and Tobi ran around like a madman getting all of the last minute things together, calling a taxi, and grabbing the bags. Contractions were pretty intense after my water broke, and we arrived at the hospital at around 9:45. At that point, I was ready to push, and when my body did its thing, the midwife didn’t tell me to wait, and I thought, “Wow, it really is time to push!” A half an hour later, our little BOY made his way out into the world and cried his first cry before he was even all the way out.

I knew it was a boy all along, but it was still such a wonderful surprise and a special moment to find out at the birth. The midwife held him up and put him on my chest and I told him, “I knew you were a boy!”

This is just the short version of my birth story. I haven’t had time to write down all the details, but want to do so soon while it is all fresh in my mind. But man, I have to say that it was such an amazing experience. I told Tobias afterwards that I couldn’t believe how easy it had been. Intense, yes. But I felt wonderfully powerful and so very relieved that everything went well.

Avi Johannes arrived at 10:15 pm on Tuesday, June 7. He weighed 3770 grams, was 55cm long, and head circumference was 34cm. (That’s 8 pounds 5 ounces, 21 1/2 inches, and 13 1/2 inches.)

And just like that, my little guy is already one week old today. I love him so much and I’m so glad he has joined our family.

 

Oh, and before I go. A little bit about his name. All of the Germans have been pronouncing it wrong so far, which surprised me a little bit! Most people I’ve talked to over here had never heard of the name before.

Avi is a Hebrew name, short of Avraham (Abraham). It is pronounced AH-vee (with the stress on the first syllable, as opposed to ah-VEE, which is a regular Hebrew word meaning “my father”). The similarity between the two is not incidental.

Hope that helps! (Hint: it does NOT rhyme with gravy or navy!) 😉

8 thoughts on “Welcome, Avi Johannes!

  1. Congratulations! And wow you were quick! Our son arrived on Whit Monday and it was a pretty fast birth but the midwife at the hospital at least had enough time to do an exam 🙂 I’m still working on the birth story for my blog as I’m not sure how much details to include

Leave a Reply

