Shifting priorities

Not in big ways, really. But having two kids to deal with now — even though the older one is at Kita for 8 hours a day, which is a huge help! — is exhausting sometimes.

I often find myself with a bit of free time when Avi is sleeping or Theo is in bed and I only have Avi to deal with, or, on the rare occasion, BOTH kids are sleeping at the same time. And during that fleeting bit of free time I run through a little list in my head of things I might possibly be able to accomplish before somebody needs me again. Little things like eating something. Showering. Using the toilet (ahem!). Cleaning up the kitchen. Or maybe, if I’m feeling ambitious, getting out my sewing machine again after its long hiatus in the cupboard.

Usually I’m too tired to do anything much, so eating takes priority. Then showering. Then cleaning. If I sew when I’m tired, I’ll make dumb mistakes. So I haven’t really done much of anything lately except just get by.

I have been spending a lot of time with my family, though, and that has been wonderful. That’s what Elternzeit is all about, anyway. Time to spend with my little baby. And much more time to spend with Theo on the playground after Kita.

My parents were here at the end of July, and it was really lovely having them here. They came right at a time when Avi had just started smiling and cooing. Theo’s Kita was out for a 3-week break, so he had plenty of time to spend with Grandma & Granddad. And after they left, we took advantage of some nice weather and the proximity of the Nord-Ostsee-Bahn and took a trip up to Sylt to spend time on the beach at the North Sea. Life is pretty grand. And though this summer hasn’t been the warmest of summers (until this week! the next few days are supposed to be hot!), I’ve still been enjoying it. Because there is a lot to enjoy, and sometimes you have to look at the bright side and be happy with where you’re at.

So even though I’ve given more priority to the basics these days instead of the blog, I’m still around. I’ll still check back in. I can’t make promises as to how often, but I’m sure there will be much more to come. If you want to keep up with me and my little family, Instagram is the place to find me these days.

6 thoughts on “Shifting priorities

Leave a Reply

