Sisterhood of the World Bloggers

Here’s another super old post that I never published! I answered several of these questions in 2015, but never finished. Now I’m back, 2 years later, to finish it up!


Courtney at Welcome To Germerica (one of my favorite expat blogs!!) has nominated me to answer some questions.(Back in 2015, haha. Oops.)

1. What is the most unusual item you always have in your carry-on?

Tough first question! I wouldn’t classify any of my carry-on items as unusual. I travel with normal things. Now, with the kids, it would be unusual for me to bring a book – because I would surely never have time to read it!

2. What is your favorite social media platform?

Instagram. I love all of the inspiring images there, and it’s where I chronicle most of my day to day life. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words. That being said, I use Facebook way more often, and lately, I’ve felt a bit overwhelmed with Instagram. If I miss a day or two, without checking to see what’s new, there are so.many.pictures to scroll through.

3. You are going on a weekend getaway 4 hours away. What do you prefer: driving, going by train, or flying?

Going by train is what we usually do! But before we had kids, I loved a good road trip. You can blast the music if you like. Stop wherever and whenever. But now, having two kids strapped into car seats doesn’t sound that fun for a long trip. I’d rather go by train and have a little more wiggle room!

4. What are you in the mood for: a relaxing beach vacation or a trip to a big city you have never visited before?

Beach vacation! For just a few days, alone with my husband! Sounds dreamy!

5. What is your favorite breakfast food?

French toast all the way, baby! God, I love it. But really it’s hard to choose, because I adore breakfast food. Eggs over easy with cheese on toast, eaten as the messiest sandwich ever, is a close second. And hash browns with ketchup, which I have never made at home before. I could eat breakfast food all day long.

6. Have you ever had a vacation destination not live up to your expectations?

Not necessarily. I usually have pretty low expectations of the places I visit. That said, we recently took a vacation to Oberstdorf and it was kind of challenging having all four of us sleep in the same room together at the youth hostel we stayed at, with no common room for us to hang out after the kids went to sleep. So we usually went to sleep with them, super early.

7. What is your favorite non-US TV show?

I’m a dork, but I watch Lindenstraße, Germany’s longest-running weekly soap opera. But it’s helped me learn a lot of German through the years – when I first started watching, I only understood about 10 words an episode. Now I can understand everything and it’s fun to see how they keep all the stories going.

Tatortreiniger is awesome, too. I can’t wait for some new episodes to come out, because it’s just so darn funny!

8. You are going out for the evening with friends – what drink do you order?

Fun drink? Probably a caipirinha. But…realistically? In the past three years, with pregnancy and then breastfeeding, it’s alcohol-free beer. I’m still breastfeeding so I don’t indulge in alcohol much yet. And honestly, I don’t miss it all that much. Alcohol makes me so tired and I fall asleep at parties. #lame

9. What is your favorite souvenir that you bought on a trip?

I don’t usually buy souvenirs! But while I was living in Paris, I bought some Paris metro boxer shorts that I wore as pajamas for many years. Too bad I had to get rid of them post baby! They didn’t fit anymore.

10. And lastly, share your favorite inspirational quote!

I find new favorites all the time. But one that is particularly helpful in this season of life is this: Tomorrow is a new day.

Leave a Reply

